Broker Check

Professional Designations

FSCP® - Financial Services Certified Professional® Designation

Founded in 1927, The American College of Financial Services is located in Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania. The American College has served as the premier educational institution dedicated to the development of financial services professionals. The College has worked tirelessly to educate our nation’s advisors, to help them raise the level of their service, and to ensure that society can rely on a profession built on trust.

Candidates for the FSCP® designation learn a wide range of topics, with curriculum addressing such concepts as product solutions, ethics and practice standards, available government programs, retirement planning, practice management, financial and estate planning, long-term care, business insurance, healthcare and much more.

Graduates and designees of The American College of Financial Services have studied, have passed rigorous exams, and have proven that they not only have the technical knowledge to serve their clients, but have sworn to practice ethically and in the best interest of the good people they serve. Holders of the FSCP® designation are required to complete ongoing continuing education and participate in the Professional Recertification Program.

For more information phone 1-888-263-7265 or visit

CFP® - Certified Financial Planner® Designation

More and more consumers understand the importance of working with a financial planner they can trust. As part of their certification, CFP® professionals demonstrate their expertise and commit to high standards to earn the respect of their clients..
As part of their certification, CFP® professionals commit to CFP Board’s Code of Ethics and Standards of Conduct, which means they commit to work in their clients’ best interests at all times when providing financial advice. Not all financial planners make that commitment to their profession.
Some CFP® professionals started in other careers and fields. Many come from related fields in the financial services industry. Those who hold other professional designations and licenses decide to add the CFP® mark to their resume to complement their existing credentials, demonstrate their commitment to personal financial planning and help them to stand out from the competition.

For more information phone 1-888-263-7265 or visit

CLU® -  Chartered Life Underwriter® Designation

 The premier designation for insurance professionals. Launched in 1927, the Chartered Life Underwriter (CLU®) is the insurance profession's oldest standard of excellence. Today, it continues to be the credential for practitioners who desire to provide their clients with the security of life insurance and risk management. Since its inception, tens of thousands of financial services professionals have obtained this prestigious designation. With particular emphasis placed on ethics and commitment to clients, the CLU® has earned a distinguished reputation backed by security and stewardship.

In the Chartered Life Underwriter® (CLU®) program, students learn how to fully serve the diverse needs of their individual and business clients through in-depth insurance knowledge. Upon completion, students have the expertise to provide guidance to clients on types and amounts of life insurance, make recommendations on aspects of risk management, and expert knowledge of various insurance solutions. A CLU®designee understands the legal aspects of life insurance, and assisting clients in making decisions about estate planning, including various wills and trust arrangements.

For more information phone 1-888-263-7265 or visit


LUTCF® - Life Underwriter Training Council Fellow® Designation

In 1984, the Life Underwriter Training Council Fellow (LUTCF®) designation was developed by the National Association of Insurance and Financial Advisors (NAIFA). In 2014, NAIFA partnered with the College for Financial Planning, to develop an entirely new curriculum that reflects changes in the profession.

The College for Financial Planning provides LUTCF® students with a thorough education focusing on the unique needs of insurance agents and financial advisors.

Study materials are written and updated regularly by the College’s full-time faculty, who specialize in investments, insurance, taxation, retirement planning, and estate planning.

The LUTCF® program emphasizes integrated needs assessment of a client’s total financial situation. The program promotes a thorough evaluation of a client’s insurance and investment needs before an advisor makes appropriate recommendations.

Candidates must be a member in good standing with NAIFA before authorization to use the designation is co-conferred by NAIFA and the College for Financial Planning.

Additional information on the LUTCF® program can be found at or contact the College for Financial Planning at 1-800-237-9990.


RFC®  - Registered Financial Consultant® Designation

Founded in 1984, the International Association of Registered Financial Consultants (IARFC) provides the professional consultant the tools to grow a practice with creative sales and marketing ideas, technical and professional information, and networking opportunities.

In a world of constant economic, political, and social change, consumers engage the guidance of financial consultants to achieve financial security and independence. An IARFC designation sets members above their peers as qualified and trained professionals that have met a high level of competency.

For more information call the International Association of Registered Financial Consultants at (800) 532-9060 or visit


CFS® - Certified Fund Specialist® Designation

Education - Certified Fund Specialist® (CFS®) candidates must complete a comprehensive advanced program designed to educate the advisor on every aspect of modern portfolio theory (MPT), mutual funds, ETF’s, REIT’s, UIT’s, EAN’s, CEF’s asset rebalancing and taxation.

Experience - CFS® professionals must have a Bachelor’s degree or 2,000 hours of experience completed in the financial services industry prior to completing the CFS® course. As a result, CFS® practitioners possess extensive financial counseling skills in addition to portfolio construction.

Ethics - All graduates must sign the Institute of Business and Finance (IBF) Code of Ethics and agree to adhere to the IBF Standards of Practice, both of which place the client’s interests above those of the advisor or parent company.

The CFS® advisor pledges to put your interests above all else, keeps abreast of industry standards, new strategies and academic white papers. While conducting all activities with the highest standards of integrity and honesty, CFS® advisors perform investment services in a professional and economical manner offering advice only in areas of competence.

Ongoing Certification Requirements - IBF’s continuing education (CE) policy is an important part of our commitment to the highest competency standards in the industry. Every CFS® advisor is required to regularly submit 30 hours of continuing education to maintain technical competence and fulfill ethical obligations.

Additional information regarding this designation is available by contacting the Institute of Business and Finance (IBF) at or calling 1-800-848-2029.